UFC Fight Night 16

UFC: Fight for the Troops, also referred to as UFC Fight Night 16, was a mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) on December 10, 2008 at the Crown Coliseum in Fayetteville, North Carolina. The event helped raise money for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, which provides support for severely wounded military personnel and veterans and the families of military personnel lost in service. The event reportedly raised $4 million during its three-hour broadcast.

The event was officially announced on September 17, 2008 during UFC Fight Night: Diaz vs. Neer. Brian Stann and Frank Edgar were originally slated to appear on the card, but injuries forced both fighters to withdraw. Razak Al-Hassan replaced Stann, and Jim Miller came in with only three weeks notice as a late replacement for Edgar.

The event resulted in an unusual number of serious injuries. Corey Hill, Razak Al-Hassan, Brandon Wolff, Jonathan Goulet, Nate Loughran, and Yoshiyuki Yoshida were all hospitalized for injuries sustained during their fights. The referees assigned for the event were Dan Miragliotta, Donnie Jessup, Al Coley and Mario Yamasaki.



Preliminary card

* Heavyweight bout: United States Eddie Sanchez vs. United States Justin McCully

McCully defeated Sanchez via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, and 29-28).

* Lightweight bout: United States Corey Hill vs. United States Dale Hartt

Hartt defeated Hill via TKO (injury) at 0:20 of round 2.

* Welterweight bout: United States Ben Saunders vs. United States Brandon Wolff

Saunders defeated Wolff via TKO (strikes) at 1:49 of round 1. This preliminary bout was aired on the broadcast.

* Welterweight bout: United States Steve Bruno vs. United States Johnny Rees

Bruno defeated Rees via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:44 of round 2. This preliminary bout was aired on the broadcast.

* Catch-weight bout (173 pounds): United States Luigi Fioravanti vs. United States Brodie Farber

Fioravanti defeated Farber via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, and 30-27). This preliminary bout was aired on the broadcast.

Main card

* Lightweight bout: United States Matt Wiman vs. United States Jim Miller

Miller defeated Wiman via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, and 30-26).

* Middleweight bout: United States Tim Credeur vs. United States Nate Loughran

Credeur defeated Loughran via TKO (Verbal Submission) at the end of round 2.

* Light Heavyweight bout: United States Steve Cantwell vs. United States Razak Al-Hassan

Cantwell defeated Al-Hussan via technical submission (armbar) at 4:04 of round 1.

* Welterweight bout: United States Mike Swick vs. Canada Jonathan Goulet[6]

Swick defeated Goulet via KO (strikes) at 0:33 of round 1.

* Welterweight bout: United States Josh Koscheck vs. Japan Yoshiyuki Yoshida[7]

Koscheck defeated Yoshida via KO (punch) at 2:15 of round 1.

  • Knockout of the Night: United States Josh Koscheck
  • Submission of the Night: United States Steve Cantwell
  • Fight of the Night: United States Jim Miller vs. United States Matt Wiman