UFC 6: Clash of the Titans was the sixth mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship on July 14, 1995, at the Casper Events Center in Casper, Wyoming. The event was seen live on pay per view in the United States, and later released on home video.


UFC 6 featured the crowning of the first UFC Champion to win the title in a non-tournament format.[2] The champion would be the winner of a special match called 'The Superfight', which continued from UFC 5 as there was no official winner in the previous Superfight. [3] UFC 6 also featured an eight-man tournament, and two alternate fights which were not shown on the live pay-per-view broadcast. The tournament had no weight classes, or weight limits. Each match had no rounds; therefore no judges were used for the night. A 20 minute time limit was imposed for the quarterfinal and semi-final round matches in the tournament. The finals of the tournament and the Superfight had a 30 minute time limit and, if necessary, a five minute overtime.

This event continued the Superfight format from UFC 5 to determine the reigning UFC champion for tournament winners to face. Ken Shamrock remained in the spot and his opponent was UFC 5 champion Dan Severn in a championship match dubbed as "The Clash of the Titans".

The referee for the night was 'Big' John McCarthy, who had the power to restart the fight from a standing position if the fighters were stalemate and no progress was being made by either one. Michael Buffer served as the guest ring announcer for the night.



Alternate bouts

* United States Joel Sutton vs. United States Jack McGlaughlin

Sutton wins by submission due to strikes at 2:01.

* United States Anthony Macias vs. United States He-Man Gipson

Macias wins by submission due to strikes at 3:06.


* United States Tank Abbott vs. United States John Matua

Abbott wins by KO at 0:18 and then mocks a prone Matua who was unconscious.

* United States Paul Varelans vs. United States Cal Worsham

Varelans wins by KO (elbow to the head) at 1:04.

* United States Patrick Smith vs. United States Rudyard Moncayo

Smith wins by submission (rear naked choke) at 1:08. Smith withdrew from the tournament, complaining of stomach cramps.

* Russia Oleg Taktarov vs. Canada Dave Beneteau

Taktarov wins by submission (guillotine choke) at 0:57.


* United States Tank Abbott vs. United States Paul Varelans

Abbott wins by TKO due to strikes at 1:53.

* Russia Oleg Taktarov vs. United States Anthony Macias

Taktarov wins by submission (guillotine choke) at 0:12. Macias replaced Patrick Smith, who could not continue due to injury. It is widely believed that this fight was fixed as Macias ran into a guillotine and tapped before he hit the canvas. For the rest of the fight chants of "fake" could be heard by the crowd.


* Superfight Championship bout: United States Ken Shamrock vs. United States Dan Severn

Shamrock wins by submission (guillotine choke) at 2:14 to become the first UFC Superfight Champion.


* Russia Oleg Taktarov vs. United States Tank Abbott

Taktarov wins the UFC 6 Tournament by submission (rear naked choke) at 17:47.

UFC 6 Bracket

  Quarterfinals Semifinals Final
   Tank Abbott  
 John Matua  
     Tank Abbott  
     Paul Varelans  
 Paul Varelans
   Cal Worsham  
       Tank Abbott
     Oleg Taktarov
   Patrick Smith  
 Rudyard Moncayo  
     Anthony Macias1
     Oleg Taktarov  
 Oleg Taktarov
   Dave Beneteau  

1Patrick Smith was forced to withdraw due to injury. He was replaced by Anthony Macias.

UFC6 results at Sherdog.com
UFC6 fights reviews