UFC 65

UFC 65: Bad Intentions was a mixed martial arts competition held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship on November 18, 2006 at the ARCO Arena in Sacramento, California – the UFC’s first show at this venue.


The card featured the anticipated rematch between Matt Hughes and Georges St-Pierre for the UFC Welterweight Championship – a fight originally scheduled for UFC 63. UFC 65 also featured a heavyweight title bout between Undisputed UFC Heavyweight Champion Tim Sylvia and Jeff Monson.

UFC 65's original slated main event was a championship superfight with UFC Light Heavyweight Champion Chuck Liddell defending his title against PRIDE Middleweight Champion Wanderlei Silva, a matchup UFC President Dana White announced during UFC 61 on July 8, 2006. Since then, the matchup appeared to have been postponed or cancelled because Tito Ortiz had been guaranteed a title shot at UFC 66, which was too close to UFC 65, as White stated in several interviews.

The Hughes vs. St-Pierre main event was long awaited. It was first officially announced to happen at UFC 63 during the July 17, 2006 edition of the The Hot List on ESPNEWS. The fight was announced before, without a date, at a press conference in Toronto, Canada on April 7, 2006, and the matchup was alluded to—but not officially announced—during the PPV broadcast of UFC 58.



Preliminary card

* Heavyweight bout: United States Jake O'Brien vs. United States Josh Schockman

O'Brien wins by unanimous decision. All three judges score the bout 30–27.

* Light Heavyweight bout: United States James Irvin vs. United States Hector Ramirez

Irvin wins by TKO (due to strikes) at 2:36 of round two. This bout aired on the PPV broadcast following the Sakara vs. McFedries fight.

* Heavyweight bout: Netherlands Antoni Hardonk vs. United States Sherman Pendergarst

Hardonk wins by knockout(due to leg kick) at 3:15 of round one. Pandergarst was a late replacement for Brad Imes. This bout aired last on the PPV broadcast following the Hughes vs. St-Pierre fight.

* Welterweight bout: United States Nick Diaz vs. Brazil Gleison Tibau

Diaz wins by TKO (due to strikes) at 2:27 of round two.

Main card

* Lightweight bout: United States Joe Stevenson vs. Japan Dokonjonosuke Mishima

Stevenson wins by submission (guillotine choke) at 2:07 of round one.

* Heavyweight bout: United States Frank Mir vs. United States Brandon Vera

Vera wins by TKO (due to strikes) at 1:09 of round one.

* Light Heavyweight bout: Italy Alessio Sakara vs. United States Drew McFedries

McFedries wins by TKO (due to strikes) at 4:07 of round one. McFedries was a late replacement for Wilson Gouveia.

* Heavyweight Championship bout: United States Tim Sylvia (c) vs. United States Jeff Monson

Sylvia retains the UFC Heavyweight Championship title and wins by unanimous decision after five rounds. The judges scores for the bout 50–45, 49–46, 49–46.

* Welterweight Championship bout: United States Matt Hughes (c) vs. Canada Georges St-Pierre

St-Pierre wins by TKO (due to strikes) at 1:25 of round two to become the new UFC Welterweight Champion.