UFC 69

UFC 69: Shootout was a mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship on Saturday, April 7, 2007 at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas. UFC 69: Shootout was the first UFC event ever held in the state of Texas.


The card was headlined by heavy favorite Georges St-Pierre defending his welterweight title against The Ultimate Fighter 4 welterweight winner Matt Serra.

The co-main event was a rematch held between top welterweight contenders Josh Koscheck and then-undefeated Diego Sanchez. Sanchez defeated Koscheck by split decision in the semi-finals of the original Ultimate Fighter 1 series in the middleweight division; as with all TUF bouts prior to the finals, this was an exhibition bout and is not on either fighter's record.

UFC President Dana White announced the signing of former PRIDE FC heavyweight champion Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira during the broadcast.

During UFC 69, light heavyweights Tito Ortiz and Rashad Evans were in a brief ringside altercation.



Preliminary card

* Welterweight bout: United States Luke Cummo vs. United States Josh Haynes

Cummo wins via knockout from a punch at 2:45 of round two.

* Welterweight bout: United States Marcus Davis vs. United States Pete Spratt

Davis wins via submission (ankle lock) at 2:57 of round two.

* Middleweight bout: Brazil Thales Leites vs. United States Pete Sell

Leites wins via unanimous (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

* Heavyweight bout: United States Heath Herring vs. United States Brad Imes

Herring wins via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

Main card

* Middleweight bout: United States Kendall Grove vs. United States Alan Belcher

Grove wins via technical submission (D'Arce choke) at 4:42 of round two.

* Middleweight bout: Japan Yushin Okami vs. United States Mike Swick

Okami wins via unanimous decision (29–28, 29–28, 30–27).

* Lightweight bout: United States Leonard Garcia vs. United States Roger Huerta

Huerta wins via unanimous decision after three rounds. (30–27, 30–27, 30–27). Garcia was a short-notice replacement for Huerta's original scheduled opponent, Alvin Robinson.

* Welterweight bout: United States Diego Sanchez vs. United States Josh Koscheck

Koscheck wins via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

* Welterweight Championship bout: Canada Georges St-Pierre (c) vs. United States Matt Serra

Serra wins via TKO (punches) at 3:25 of round one to become the UFC Welterweight Champion.

Official UFC 69 website
UFC 69 Fight Card
Josh Koscheck Interview
UFC 69 Review