UFC 77

UFC 77: Hostile Territory was a mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC). The event took place on Saturday, October 20, 2007 at the U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati, Ohio. The main event featured Anderson Silva defending his middleweight championship against Rich Franklin in a rematch of their October 2006 meeting at UFC 64, which Silva won.

The co-main event was a heavyweight match-up between former two-time champion Tim Sylvia and undefeated Brandon Vera.

Before the Vera-Sylvia fight, former amateur wrestler and WWE superstar Brock Lesnar announced he had signed with the UFC.

The name "Hostile Territory" came from the defense of Anderson Silva's UFC middleweight title against Cincinnati native Rich Franklin.



Preliminary card

* Lightweight bout: United States Matt Grice vs. United States Jason Black

Grice wins by split decision. The scores were initially announced as 29–28 for Black, 29–28 for Grice, and 28–28, and the bout was ruled a split draw. An announcement was then made in the arena that the scores had been miscalculated. Grice was awarded the victory, but the corrected scores were not announced.

* Welterweight bout: United States Josh Burkman vs. United States Forrest Petz

Burkman wins by split decision[1]. Judges scored the bout 29–28 29–28 for Burkman and 29–28 for Petz.

* Middleweight bout: United States Ryan Jensen vs. Brazil Demian Maia

Maia wins by submission at 2:40 of the first round with a rear naked choke. This bout aired last on the PPV broadcast following the Silva vs. Franklin fight.

* Middleweight bout: Japan Yushin Okami vs. Canada Jason MacDonald

Okami wins by unanimous decision. All three judges scored the bout 30–27.

Main card

* Middleweight bout: Canada Kalib Starnes vs. United States Alan Belcher

Belcher wins by TKO at 1:39 of round two due to doctor stoppage. Starnes suffered a deep cut above his right eye, forcing the stop of the fight.

* Light heavyweight bout: United States Eric Schafer vs. United States Stephan Bonnar

Bonnar wins by TKO (Strikes) at 2:47 of round two.

* Lightweight bout: Brazil Jorge Gurgel vs. United States Alvin Robinson

Robinson wins by unanimous decision. The judges scored the bout 29–28, 29–27 and 29–27.

* Heavyweight bout: United States Tim Sylvia vs. United States Brandon Vera

Sylvia wins by unanimous decision. All three judges scored the bout 30–27.

* Middleweight Championship bout: Brazil Anderson Silva (c) vs. United States Rich Franklin

Silva wins by TKO (Strikes) at 1:07 of the second round to retain the Middleweight title.

Bonus awards

At the end of this event, $40,000 was awarded to each of the fighters who received one of these three awards.

  • Fight of the Night: United States Matt Grice vs. United States Jason Black
  • Submission of the Night: Brazil Demian Maia
  • Knockout of the Night: Brazil Anderson Silva