UFC 86

UFC 86: Jackson vs. Griffin was a mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) on July 5, 2008, at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The title bout between Quinton "Rampage" Jackson and Forrest Griffin, coaches on The Ultimate Fighter: Team Rampage vs. Team Forrest, was for Jackson's UFC Light Heavyweight Championship.

A heavyweight bout between Frank Mir and Justin McCully was cancelled due to Mir's signing on as a coach for the The Ultimate Fighter: Team Nogueira vs. Team Mir series. Both the Chris Wilson vs. Steve Bruno and Ben Saunders vs. Jared Rollins bout were rescheduled for UFC 87.



Preliminary card

* Lightweight bout: Brazil Jorge Gurgel vs. United States Cole Miller

Miller defeats Gurgel by submission (triangle choke) at 4:48 of round 3.

* Lightweight bout: United States Melvin Guillard vs. Germany Dennis Siver

Guillard defeats Siver by KO (punches) at 0:36 of round 1. This bout aired last on the PPV broadcast following the Jackson vs. Griffin fight.

* Lightweight bout: United States Corey Hill vs. United States Justin Buchholz

Buchholz defeats Hill by submission (rear naked choke) at 3:57 of round 2.

* Heavyweight bout: Brazil Gabriel Gonzaga vs. United States Justin McCully

Gonzaga defeats McCully by submission (americana) at 1:57 of round 1.

Main card

* Lightweight bout: United States Tyson Griffin vs. Brazil Marcus Aurelio

Griffin defeats Aurelio by unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

* Welterweight bout: United States Josh Koscheck vs. United States Chris Lytle

Koscheck defeats Lytle by unanimous decision (30–26, 29–27, 30–28[4][5][6]).

* Lightweight bout: United States Joe Stevenson vs. Brazil Gleison Tibau

Stevenson defeats Tibau by submission (guillotine choke) at 2:57 of round 2.

* Middleweight bout: Canada Patrick Côté vs. Brazil Ricardo Almeida

Côté defeats Almeida by split decision (29–28, 28–29, 29–28).

* Light Heavyweight Championship bout: United States Quinton Jackson (c) vs. United States Forrest Griffin

Griffin defeats Jackson by unanimous decision (48–46, 48–46, 49–46) to become the UFC Light Heavyweight Champion.

* Fight of the Night: United States Quinton Jackson vs. United States Forrest Griffin
* Submission of the Night: United States Cole Miller
* Knockout of the Night: United States Melvin Guillard