UFC 90

UFC 90: Silva vs. Côté was a mixed martial arts event held by the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) on October 25, 2008 at the Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Illinois.[2] The main event featured UFC Middleweight Champion Anderson Silva vs Patrick Côté.


The scheduled bout between Thales Leites and Goran Reljic was scratched from the card due to an injury suffered by Reljic. Drew McFedries was chosen as Reljic's replacement. Anderson Silva's original opponent was rumored to be Yushin Okami, but the fight was scratched after Okami suffered a hand injury. Also, the bout between Gray Maynard and Rich Clementi was moved to the main card.[3]

Diego Sanchez suffered an injury while preparing for his bout against Thiago Alves and was forced to pull out while Josh Koscheck stepped in to fight instead.[4]

Other changes to the card included:

* Melvin Guillard was slated to fight Spencer Fisher, but was replaced by Shannon Gugerty.
* Ricardo Almeida was replaced by Dan Miller due to an injury.
* Marcus Aurelio replaces injured Gleison Tibau.



Preliminary card

* Welterweight bout: United States Josh Burkman vs. United States Pete Sell

Sell defeated Burkman via unanimous decision (29–28, 29–28, 29–28).

* Lightweight bout: Brazil Hermes Franca vs. Brazil Marcus Aurelio

Franca defeated Aurelio via unanimous decision (30–27, 29–28, 29–28).

* Middleweight bout: United States Dan Miller vs. United States Matt Horwich

Miller defeated Horwich via unanimous decision (29–28, 29–28, 29–28).

* Lightweight bout: United States Spencer Fisher vs. United States Shannon Gugerty

Fisher defeated Gugerty via submission (triangle choke) at 3:56 of round 3.

* Middleweight bout: Brazil Thales Leites vs. United States Drew McFedries

Leites defeated McFedries via submission (rear naked choke) at 1:18 of round 1. This bout aired last on the PPV broadcast following the Silva vs. Côté fight.

Main card

* Lightweight bout: United States Sean Sherk vs. United States Tyson Griffin

Sherk defeated Griffin via unanimous decision (30–27, 29–28, 29–28).

* Heavyweight bout: Brazil Fabricio Werdum vs. Brazil Junior dos Santos

Dos Santos defeated Werdum via KO (uppercut) at 1:20 of round 1.

* Lightweight bout: United States Rich Clementi vs. United States Gray Maynard

Maynard defeated Clementi via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

* Welterweight bout: United States Josh Koscheck vs. Brazil Thiago Alves

Alves defeated Koscheck via unanimous decision (30–27, 29–28, 30–27).

* Middleweight Championship bout: Brazil Anderson Silva (c) vs. Canada Patrick Côté

Silva defeated Côté via TKO (knee injury) 0:39 of round 3 to retain the Middleweight Championship title.

  • Fight of the Night: United States Sean Sherk and United States Tyson Griffin
  • Knockout of the Night: Brazil Junior dos Santos
  • Submission of the Night: United States Spencer Fisher