UFC 92

Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.


The main event featured number-one contender Rashad Evans winning the UFC Light Heavyweight Championship from Forrest Griffin. The referee stopped the fight due to a series of strikes from Evans in the third round.

The first co-main event saw former UFC Heavyweight Champion Frank Mir score a second-round technical knockout of former PRIDE heavyweight champion and then current UFC Interim Heavyweight Champion Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira. Mir claimed the UFC Interim Heavyweight Championship from Nogueira and earned the right to face then UFC Heavyweight Champion Brock Lesnar in a title-unification bout in early 2009.

The other co-main event was a fight between former UFC Light-heavyweight champion Quinton Jackson and former PRIDE Middleweight champion Wanderlei Silva. Jackson avenged two earlier losses to Silva by knocking Silva out in the first round.


Preliminary card

* Heavyweight bout: Norway Dan Evensen vs. United States Pat Barry

Barry defeated Evensen via TKO (leg kick) at 2:36 of Round 1. This bout aired on the PPV broadcast following the Jackson vs. Silva fight.

* Welterweight bout: Japan Ryo Chonan vs. United States Brad Blackburn

Blackburn defeated Chonan via Unanimous Decision (29–28, 29–28, 29–28).

* Light Heavyweight bout: United States Matt Hamill vs. United States Reese Andy

Hamill defeated Andy via TKO (strikes) at 2:19 of Round 2. This bout aired on the PPV broadcast following the Dollaway vs. Massenzio fight.

* Heavyweight bout: Netherlands Antoni Hardonk vs. United States Mike Wessel

Hardonk defeated Wessel via TKO (strikes) at 2:09 of Round 2. (Wessel replaced Mark Burch, who was originally intended to fight Hardonk) This bout aired last on the PPV broadcast following the Griffin vs. Evans fight.

* Middleweight bout: Japan Yushin Okami vs. United States Dean Lister

Okami defeated Lister via Unanimous Decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

Main card

* Heavyweight bout: France Cheick Kongo vs. England Mostapha Al Turk

Kongo defeated Al Turk via TKO (Strikes) at 4:37 of round 1.

* Light Heavyweight bout: United States Quinton Jackson vs. Brazil Wanderlei Silva

Jackson defeated Silva via KO (Punch) at 3:21 of round 1.

* Middleweight bout: United States C.B. Dollaway vs. United States Mike Massenzio

Dollaway defeated Massenzio via TKO (Strikes) at 3:01 of round 1

* Interim Heavyweight Championship bout: Brazil Antônio Rodrigo Nogueira (ic) vs. United States Frank Mir

Mir defeated Nogueira via TKO (Strikes) at 1:54 of round 2 to become the new UFC Interim Heavyweight champion

* Light Heavyweight Championship bout: United States Forrest Griffin (c) vs. United States Rashad Evans

Evans defeated Griffin via TKO (Strikes) at 2:46 of round 3 to become the new UFC Light Heavyweight champion.

  • Fight of the Night: United States Rashad Evans vs. United States Forrest Griffin
  • Knockout of the Night: United States Quinton Jackson
  • Submission of the Night: Not awarded as no matches ended with submission